© 2019 and 2021 OBD Software
back to the top:

13 December 2016

WOFF is listed in the Armchair General Best Games of 2016 List !

“The pinnacle of World War I flight simulators"

2 November 2016 WOFF UE review.

Check out a great new WOFF Ultimate Edition review on: Wargamers

Needful Things

"..not just the ultimate version of WOFF, but the ultimate single player flight sim, period!"

31 July 2016 WOFF 3 earns 99% rating!

Richard A Martin gives WINGS: Over Flanders Fields 3 ("WOFF 3") a superb

review:

"I can’t speak highly enough about this 3rd expansion to Wings Over Flanders Fields; it’s a classic! "

26 January 2016 FlightSim.com WOFF 2 review

Review of WOFF EXPANSION 2, by Dom Smith

"..without a shadow of doubt, that WOFF Expansion is the most atmospheric

and involving combat simulator I have ever had the pleasure of flying."

"..Pausing the simulator mid-flight is, at times, like looking at an oil

painting...simply breathtaking!"

15 May 2015 Wings: Over Flanders Fields is no.13 in "The 25 Best Simulation Games Ever Made" !
23 March 2015 WINGS: Over Flanders Fields review - Richard A Martin : "Simply put, Wings Over Flanders Fields is the upgraded edition of what is arguably the best World War I flight simulator on the market. " 5th March 2015. WINGS: Over Flanders Fields makes Tim Stone's "The 20 best wargames of all time" in PC GAMER "WOFF brings the 1914-18 air war to life more successfully than any of its peers." 5th August 2014. A review of WOFF team in the Dutch Magazine "PILOOT EN VLIEGTUIG" - by Hans Heerkens! ‘WOFF is a lovingly crafted sim’. (translation of one quote). August 2014 edition available from http://www.pilootenvliegtuig.nl/magazine/ 1 June 2014 FlightSim.com Interview with the WOFF team with Nels Anderson.
18 May 2014 Flighsim.com REVIEW of Wings: Over Flanders Fields" by Dom Smith "my first thoughts were...wow, this is incredible! " "AI ... is some of the best I've seen in a flight simulator..." ".. one of the most beautiful and atmospheric (music) scores I have ever heard in a computer game" "..it takes quite a bit to impress me but in this case, I really was blown away by the visuals"

REVIEWS

PC Pilot Interview with the team behind “Wings: Over Flanders Fields" Note you'll need to purchase the issue 91 magazine (paper or digital versions) to read.
Neural game Shake - Some of us missed this small review previously (posted in January 2014) but it sums up WOFF nicely in a few words. "...THRILLING. The flak, the bullets whizzing by, it was just full of atmosphere..." "... reminds me of the flight sims of the 80s and 90s that cared about atmosphere and character as well as flight modelling and realism"
23 March - 22 April 2014 COMBAT ACE (Multi part review) Review Part 1 by 33Lima. Review Part 2 by 33Lima. Review Part 3 by 33Lima. Review Part 4 by Hellshade and Adger. 5 Star Combatace.com award - from part 3: " ... most of all, thanks to the new AI and other related enhancements, the air-to-air experience is now right up there, with or ahead of the best of them. " " ... given the depth, breadth and quality of this product, if WOFF doesn't win at least one 'Sim of the Year' award, well, there ain't no justice. Likewise, in my experience, WOFF deserves to be in at least the top ten 'Best Combat Flight sims' - ever. " 5 Star Combatace.com award "I'm simply blown away by the WOFF campaign!" From Part 4: "I've also flown Knights of the Sky, FE1 & RoF and WOFF batters them all into submission. It's not just the greatest sim I've flown...it's probably my greatest game I've ever played, a mind blowing piece of work" - Adger. See the reviews themselves for more!
February 20th 2017 A superb review of WOFF Ultimate Edition has posted on FLIGHTSIM.COM. dynamic, utterly compelling, and incredibly immersive ..one of the greatest flight simulations ever made
September 24th 2018 A detailed 2 part review of WOFF Ultimate Edition is available. Part 2 is in in issue 117 (Sept/Oct 2018). Part 1 is in issue 116 (July/August 2018) and covers ‘Main Features and design ethos’. Part 1 quotes: “..the cockpit of the S.E.5a illustrates the high level of detail and fidelity that the designers have achieved “..The end result is a deeper immersion into an ever more convincing virtual world
Part 2: “…suffice to say that when dogfighting, you eventually forget you are flying against an AI, which is the most convincing I’ve seen yet in a simulator.”
USER COMMENTS: There have been 100s of these over time, but here are a few recent ones … Subject: “Well all I can say is WOW” “…I have just recently purchased WOFF, and after my little campaign mission it deserves all of the good reviews it got, I am stunned. It is brilliant. Its really good to be able to use actual tactics to shoot down the AI, I had to drag and bag a Halberstadt D model scout in my SE5, I could not turn with him. I have never had to do this with AI before in other sims, that was generally left for online servers in the old il2 1946 days on warbirds of prey in my FW190D9. Anyway brilliant experience, well done to all who developed and contributed to this sim…” - Kennel, SIMHQ forum, 13 May 2019
“I'm late to the party, as usual, but want to add my thanks too. Have finally picked this up and, like in WOFF, jumped right into the immersion pool. Brilliant. Channel convoy patrol duty, intercepting Stuka's then getting bounced by Me109 escorts, a fierce scrap, maybe a 'kill', then home in time for game-pie and a glass of rye...” -Leaf85, SIMHQ forum thread, 3 June 2019 Subject: “I've finally 'seen the light'.......but” “Well, After years of playing RB3D (marvellous game, patched up to the hilt) and more recently Rise of Flight (could be a marvellous game if only they added more aircraft....it gets boring shooting down FE2b's and DFW's all day long)...I've finally got myself WOFF...... and quite frankly....WHOOOSH.....I'm totally hooked...I've joystick cramps....bleared vision ....and the cat is standing by the door with it's bag packed already. Now........who to fly for?.....and from what date? Hmm....any ideas?” -Simes, SIMHQ forum, 23 May 2019
Reviews, and User comments:
March 2021 During testing of WOFF BH&H II… “… It's bloody well brilliant! … Between the new sounds, engine shake animations, wind currents buffeting the planes, pilot heads actively scanning the skies, dirty goggles (I haven't even had rain yet) and the incredible AI, I've never felt more like I've been in the seat of a WWI aircraft in my life. I have to say it's head and shoulders above anything I've ever flown, including previous versions of WOFF. I had very high expectations and they have been met or exceeded in every way. Everyone who loves flight sims should fly this.” (Regarding the AI) “It’s literally the best I've ever flown against. Utterly enjoyable, challenging and engrossing.” - Todd ‘Hellshade’ Beta tester.
Below are the consistently excellent reviews of the WOFF series, including WOFF UE :
BH&H II player quotes since release : "OK the buffeting is glorious, adds so much. Goggles I adore, rain effect I love. New sounds are superb! Yet again I have excellent performance increase! Oh I love the mission review you really get to see so much more of the War being fought….Well worth every penny! …I've said previous versions have taken Red Baron 3d No1 spot and this version has not just taken the spot but shot RB3D down in flames." - Wodin (SimHQ) " I'll leave my longer rambling for another time - suffice to say: WOFF:BHAHII is absolutely the best First World War flight sim I've ever played. I am utterly blown away by what you've done this time around!" - Capt Sopwith (SimHQ) The flight of the AI planes is greatly improved, with very realistic jostling with the wind and realistic movements. Everything seems graphically 'richer'. The new sounds are really awesome and a noticeable improvement. Lots more to delve into; just scratching the surface! - 77Scout (CombatAce) Just flew my first sortie in the rain in BHaH II. Having flown open cockpit ultralights, and having been caught in a sudden summer rain shower when flying one, I can honestly say that OBD has gotten closer with this than any other flight sim I've experienced. The size of the rain drops, the misty quality, and the drops on the goggles, along with the sound, it's all right there. Outstanding! - RAF_Louvert (CombatAce) Well having just flown a few missions, I can say it is well worth the money. The new ground textures are worth it alone, and then add in all the upgraded eye-candy, like the improved cockpits and other things I have not had a chance to notice yet it is all a plus. Of course the engine vibration/rocker animation, improved charging handle animation, muzzle flares when flying at dusk or dawn (just saw this the first time in a quick combat), rain on the goggles, increased aircraft activity in furballs (which is absolutely insane). The AI seem to be more aggressive (or it may be there are so many more of them), make it all worth more than the price. - BurningBeard (SimHQ) Just wanted to drop by and say thanks OBD for another outstanding product. For anyone on the fence about purchasing BH&HII, then know that this is not an upgraded PE. This IS a new sim... period. OBD have done an outstanding job. I was a bit skeptical at first when I saw the screenshots and videos thinking it was the same as PE, but it's not. Those screenshots and videos of BH&HII do not convey the whole picture, you really need to experience it to see the changes. - orbyxP (SimHQ) “… I found it hard to believe that it could improve much on WOFF PE. How wrong I was! This latest incarnation runs silky-smooth, is a delight to look at (_love_ the scenery!) and has some excellent new features. All I probably need now for full immersion is a 6-DOF seat and a fan to blow my silk scarf - Mike Dora (SimHQ) regarding the AI: “…Seriously though, they are a greater challenge for sure, and much more aware, selective, and intelligent. " - redwolf (SimHQ) “…The way the enemy takes snapshots at you at every opportunity keeps you on the edge. The way an AI aircraft will take you on if you're chasing him home is far more realistic. They also come to sweep you off the tail of another AI aircraft far more often… The FE2B now takes you on rather than just fly away. I'm REALLY impressed with the new AI.” - Albert Tross (SimHQ) “Haven't played since WOFF 3, came back for BH&H II and am really amazed by what has been done to update the sim. Its looking great!” -Alpenman (SimHQ) “OK just had a massive dogfight. I was flying SE5a in the famous 56 sqd, it's Mid March 1918. We end up in a big dogfight with DR1's from Jasta 27 and Pflaz DIIIa from Jasta 32. Was over 30 machines all scraping away plus it looked like another unknown squadron was coming to join the fun. Sadly I was shot down in flames, but WOW was awesome …” - Wodin (SimHQ) “WOFF BH&H is THE gold standard. It may be improved, but it will NEVER be bettered.“ - stoney66: (SimHQ)
April 30th 2021 A new review of WOFF Between Heaven and Hell II has been posted on FlyingBagpipe “…outstanding dynamic campaign engine… The A.I – Wow! Dogfights have never felt tighter or more claustrophobic. “Some of the most convincing scenery in a sim to be quite honest”
13 June 2021 A new review of WOFF BH&H II has been posted by ‘A Wargamer’s Needful Things’. You can read the full review here AWNT review. Thanks to Robert for the review. “If you are a WWI airplane junkie you should already have this game, nothing else needs to be said.“
19 August 2021 A new review of WOFF BH&H I I has just been published by PC Pilot, in Issue 135 Setp/Oct 2021 out now! “WOFF BH&H II is a significant enhancement of a unique and immersive simulation. PC Pilot Score: 95% Award: PC Pilot Platinum Award
© 2017-2021 OBD Software
back to the top:
Made with Xara
REVIEWS

13 December 2016

WOFF is listed in the

Armchair General’s

Best Games of 2016 List !

"The pinnacle of World War I flight simulators"

2 November

2016

WOFF UE review - 99% rating!

Check out a great new WOFF Ultimate Edition

review on: Wargamers Needful Things

"..not just the ultimate version of WOFF, but the

ultimate single player flight sim, period!"

31 July 2016

WOFF 3 earns 99% rating!

Richard A Martin gives

the latest expansion

WINGS: Over Flanders

Fields Expansion 3

("WOFF 3") a superb review:

"I can’t speak highly enough about this 3rd

expansion to Wings Over Flanders Fields; it’s a

classic! "

26 January 2016

FlightSim.comFlightSim.com

Review of WOFF EXPANSION

2, by Dom Smith

"..without a shadow of doubt, that WOFF

Expansion is the most atmospheric and involving

combat simulator I have ever had the pleasure of

flying."

"..Pausing the simulator mid-flight is, at times,

like looking at an oil painting...simply

breathtaking!"

For many more see the full version of the

website on PC, or tablet!

REVIEWS

click the images to go to the link if available

February 20th 2017 A superb review of WOFF Ultimate Edition has posted on FLIGHTSIM.COM. dynamic, utterly compelling, and incredibly immersive ..one of the greatest flight simulations ever made
September 24th 2018 A detailed 2 part review of WOFF Ultimate Edition is available. Part 2 is in in issue 117 (Sept/Oct 2018). Part 1 is in issue 116 (July/August 2018) and covers ‘Main Features and design ethos’. “..the cockpit of the S.E.5a illustrates the high level of detail and fidelity that the designers have achieved “..The end result is a deeper immersion into an ever more convincing virtual world
Part 2: “…suffice to say that when dogfighting, you eventually forget you are flying against an AI, which is the most convincing I’ve seen yet in a simulator.”
March 2021 - during Beta testing of WOFF BH&H II… “… "It's bloody well brilliant!" … Between the new sounds, engine shake animations, wind currents buffeting the planes, pilot heads actively scanning the skies, dirty goggles (I haven't even had rain yet) and the incredible AI, I've never felt more like I've been in the seat of a WWI aircraft in my life. I have to say it's head and shoulders above anything I've ever flown, including previous versions of WOFF. I had very high expectations and they have been met or exceeded in every way. Everyone who loves flight sims should fly this.” - Todd ‘Hellshade’ Beta tester.
April 30th 2021 A new review of WOFF Between Heaven and Hell II has been posted on FlyingBagpipe “…outstanding dynamic campaign engine… The A.I – Wow! Dogfights have never felt tighter or more claustrophobic. “Some of the most convincing scenery in a sim…”
13 June 2021 A new review of WOFF BH&H II has been posted by ‘A Wargamer’s Needful Things’. “If you are a WWI airplane junkie you should already have this game, nothing else needs to be said.“ You can read the full review here AWNT review. Thanks to Robert for the review.
19 August 2021 A new review of WOFF BH&H I I has just been published by PC Pilot, in Issue 135 out now! “WOFF BH&H II is a significant enhancement of a unique and immersive simulation. PC Pilot Score: 95% Award: PC Pilot Platinum Award